E,w,a&f #greenLiving Water 1; greywater

We use water for three things: drinking, flushing and cleaning.

Drinking tap water over bottled water is one of the most immediate changes you can make. It is also used in cooking.

I drain the cold water from my tap into a series of litre high milk bottles as the hot water runs, saving two litres a day. These refill the kettle.

My toilet has both short (wee) and long (poo) washes. I also have a compost loo outside; very simple to use with solids in biodegradable bags and carbon cover, and liquids in seal top bottles in two places; these re-enter the garden via the compost.

I use less water than falls in my garden – sustainability

Grey water is collected via the shed roof – simple drainpipe system – and then lidded and rolled to the top of the garden for tree and flower nourishment and car cleaning.

Showers predominate and that is pretty much it. Bill below £20 pm, pretty much the standing charge.

About olli
Outdoorsman, teacher, Dad, explorer, board gamer.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.